Former Wolverine World Wide CEO to be inducted into West Michigan Business Hall of Fame

Blake Kruger. Courtesy of Michigan Great Lakes Junior Achievement

Junior Achievement of the Michigan Great Lakes (JAMGL) plans to induct Wolverine World Wide’s Blake Krueger as a recipient of the West Michigan Business Hall of Fame.

The Junior Achievement West Michigan Business Hall of Fame honors distinguished business leaders who possess a record of outstanding business achievement in West Michigan, have earned the respect of the local community, and who serve as role models, especially for local young people.

Krueger is currently Chairman of the Board of Wolverine World Wide, an international footwear, apparel and accessories retailer listed on the New York Stock Exchange. Until his retirement earlier this year, he served as CEO and Chairman of the company.

Prior to joining Wolverine, Krueger practiced law at Warner Norcross + Judd in the areas of corporate and business law, mergers, acquisitions and securities.

Krueger is also a board member of Bissell, The Right Place, West Michigan Policy Forum, TalentFirst, Michigan Economic Recovery Council, The Economic Club of Grand Rapids, and Business Leaders for Michigan (Executive Committee and Past President).

Krueger also sits on several industry boards, including the Fashion Footwear Association of New York (FFANY), the Footwear Distributors and Retailers Association (past president), and the Two Ten Footwear Foundation (past president). He also served as campaign chairman for United Way of West Michigan.

“Blake Krueger is a true representation of JA’s unique entrepreneurial mission. He made his mark through his leadership and community spirit,” said Bill Coderre, President and CEO of JAMGL. “Inductees demonstrate hard work, vision and success in their respective industries, earning the respect of their peers and the wider community.”

Krueger will be honored at the 2022 Junior Achievement West Michigan Business Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner on October 24, at Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park.

Other inductees include Teresa Weatherall Neal, who will receive the Edward J. Frey Award for Distinguished Achievement, and Troy La Huis, who will receive the David B. Hensch JA Volunteer of the Year Award. The JA USA Leadership Awards will be presented to Mark Bissell, Mike Jandernoa, Brad Kessel, Jamie Mills, Scott Pranger, Joe Tomaszewski, Bob Worthington and Sandy Cilek. The Crystal Medallion Prize will be awarded to Sandy Jelinski, Wilber Lettinga (posthumously) and Jamie Mills.


Comments are closed.